Learning To Appreciate The People I Am Jealous Of

Learning To Appreciate The People I Am Jealous Of

Hey what’s up Pinkshaders,
Honestly, with all the things are happening around us, it’s a shame that as various communities we are unable to get together, work together and support one another. This week, I started a new job and after a year of struggling to find something that felt right for me, I was glad that the struggle search was finally over. But as I was saying, we really need to learn to come together and support one another in our communities. I have spent countless hours on social media looking at the success of my peers and feeling somewhat sorry for myself because while, they are excelling, I am still struggling to figure myself out. I’m seeing friends sharing the stage with big artists, hosting MTV awards, launching their websites, producing films and so forth, while I’ve been at home, trying to find a new job to hold me through. I could have been salty (jealous). I could have been angry and spiteful. But that was not the case. one early Saturday morning, as the sun began to rise, I woke up feeling very blessed and had the urge to send words of encouragement and acknowledge them for their success in working towards their dreams. I honestly don’t know what came over me at that point in time and for some of these individuals, I haven’t spoken to them in a really long time, so it definitely would have been a really random message for them receive but having gone through my BOSS Challenge journey, I knew that I had to be the sister and let them know that I support them and encourage them to continue pursuing even though I may be far away.
In life we go through struggles as part of the growing process. Our struggles are what make our personal stories unique. It really isn’t worth trying to live by life of the same person you intend to live like, nor to try to copy the life of your peers because it’s not possible to follow their life minute by minute for what they have experienced. Not everyone or should I say nobody will ever be able to explain or tell you the exact accounts of all their struggles they encountered  because a) some information is disclosed to themselves and therefore a secret but b) because they forget some emotions or exact thoughts they have had.
So rather than trying to be someone you’re not or hating on people for what they are achieving, we need to come together and acknowledge one another’s success. That way we are able to build better relationships with each other and help our communities. Essentially, in this process, by acknowledging what they have done, I also partly felt like I could add to their success, just because I showed my support.
My challenge for you this week, is to send that really heartfelt message to the person you have admired for achieving the things they have done and if you honestly want to be there for them let them know.
Leave a Reply

